St. Simons Lighthouse and Keeper’s Dwelling



Coastal Georgia Historical Society



Interactive exhibits

Artifact displays

Outdoor panels

St. Simons Island Lighthouse and its keeper’s dwelling were built in 1872 after the first light was destroyed by the Confederates as they abandoned the Georgia Sea Islands in 1862. In 2013-2014, the Coastal Georgia Historical Society restored the keeper’s dwelling. HW Exhibits helped update the museum’s exhibits to make it a 21st century experience for the enjoyment of residents and visitors. We designed and developed exhibits that showcase the history, technology, families, and culture associated with the St. Simon’s Lighthouse. The exhibit includes large information panels, custom-designed murals, artifact displays, hands-on experiences, and iPad interactives. The exhibit components respect the historic fabric of the dwelling.

HW Exhibits is a division of Brockington and Associates, a heritage resources consulting firm that has conducted thousands of archaeological and historical projects across the country and around the world.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

498 Wando Park Blvd, Suite 700
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

© 2018 by HW Exhibits